St Laurence church has stood since the 9th century.
Incorporated in the stone work of the Chancel walls are a number of “wheeled crosses’ and fragments of a tomb headstone, dating from the late Anglian period which came to an end with the Danish invasion of Northumbria in 867 AD.
Kirby Misperton is thought to have been one of the few stone-built, churches to have existed in Yorkshire at this time when “there was not a stone church in all the land, but the custom was to build them all of wood.”
The Church was entirely rebuilt in the 15th Century, and no part of the present building has survived since before that reconstruction, although the Norman Chancel Arch was not removed until the late 19th century.
The Lady Chapel has been described by one eminent Church historian as “the best part of the building”.
The window above the Altar depicting the Blessed Virgin Mary and the Infant Christ is a memorial to two former Rectors and was dedicated on the feast of the Purification in 1949 by Dean Milner-White of York.
St Laurence is open during the day so please do feel very welcome to come and discover more or use for a peaceful retreat. Our next Messy Church is held in Kirby Misperton Village Hall on Saturday 28th March 15.00-17.00 Everyone welcome.
2nd Sunday 18.30 Joint Parish Harvest Festival